6 Comments
May 17, 2022Liked by The Reason We Learn

I have been somewhat vocal, but I live in an area that is an echo chamber of the Left. I know, all the more reason to be shouting. If I am too vocal, my family could face repercussions. I would like to be part of a group that doesn't just complain but actually takes action to effect change. The Woke is everywhere and it always feels so overwhelming to fight each incidence when another one soon pops up. It's starting to affect my mental health as well.

Expand full comment
author

I understand. How do you feel about simply asking questions? What I mean is, if someone directly approaches you with an idea or claim that is obviously woke dogma, "interrogating" that point or claim?

So for example, if someone says "We have to have DEI!" Or "It's so racist for Republicans to oppose teaching CRT in schools!" You might ask "Why?"

Then when they answer, you can follow that up with, "Ok, I hear you saying X, but I'm curious...How do you know that's true?" or "What do you imagine happening if we don't do X, and why do you think that?"

What I've noticed is people parrot, because there's social currency in it, and it's lazy. The goal isn't to persuade them they're wrong, so much as to reengage their brains.

Does that seem like something you'd be able to do, or have occasion to do? That's something I try to encourage people to do b/c you can always back out if they get contentious...You cay say "I'm just trying to learn, and better understand where you're coming from. I try hard to make my decisions about what I support using as much evidence as I can get; so much disinformation out there and all."

;-)

Expand full comment

This is what I do. It serves as a good filter for who can be talked to and who are just ideologues.

Expand full comment

Thank you for that great advice! I’ve actually been able to do that with some friends, but it’s hard to do that with school officials. They usually answer all of my questions with talking points. The head of school at our old school even tried to gaslight me and then patronize me with the word salad he learned at those crazy training sessions. You have to go in as a group; else you become a target. Problem is, out here it’s hard to find/start a group of like minded parents unafraid to confront the administration. Bari Weiss wrote about that a couple of years ago.

Expand full comment
May 22, 2022Liked by The Reason We Learn

It took one school board meeting- MY FIRST -of elected officials from my community going against everything they ran on to get elected. Then it was game on.

Expand full comment
May 18, 2022Liked by The Reason We Learn

"what would it take for you to be?"

I am.

What made me vocal?

Blatant injustice and abuse as a child.

I've always been creative, so I channeled the things wrong with my life into my art: Music, Story Telling, Imagery, etc.

Having shed the creeps from my life, I'm passionate about righting the wrongs perpetrated against those resisting slavery perpetrated by claimants of the right to run our lives.

Expand full comment